UFC on FUEL 9: Gegard Mousasi vs. Ilir Latifi Official Results

UFC on FUEL 9: Mousasi vs. Latifi airs today, April 6th, 2013 from the Ericsson Globe Arena in Stockholm, Sweden. The event will be broadcast live on Fuel TV. This event will be the second event that the UFC has hosted in Sweden, following UFC on Fuel TV: Gustafsson vs. Silva which took place in 2012, and was the fastest selling European event in UFC history, selling out in just three hours, partly due to alledged involvement from ticket re-sellers.

The event was expected to be headlined by top light heavyweight contender Alexander Gustafsson and former Dream Middleweight and Light Heavyweight Champion and former Strikeforce Light Heavyweight Champion, and promotional newcomer Gegard Mousasi. However, on April 2nd it was announced by the Swedish MMA Federation, that Gustafsson would not be cleared to participate at the event due to a cut he received during a sparing session on March 30th. Gustafsson will be replaced by UFC newcomer Ilir Latifi, one of his main training partners. The main event will also be contested at three rounds, instead of the organization’s customary five.

The event will be the first in the promotion’s recent history in which both main event participants are newcomers to the organization. In the co-main event of the evening, lightweights Ross Pearson and Ryan Couture will throw down in what will mostly likely be a fight of the night candidate.

The official results:

Gegard Mousasi def. Ilir Latifi via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Ross Pearson def. Ryan Couture via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 3:45
Matt Mitrione def. Philip De Fries via knockout (strikes) – Round 1, 0:19
Brad Pickett def. Mike Easton via split decision (28-29, 30-27, 30-27)
Diego Brandao def. Pablo Garza via submission (arm-triangle choke) – Round 1, 3:27
Akira Corassani def. Robbie Peralta via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Reza Madadi def. Michael Johnson via submission (anaconda choke) – Round 3, 1:33
Tor Troeng def. Adam Cella via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 1, 3:11
Adlan Amagov def. Chris Spang via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Conor McGregor def. Marcus Brimage via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 1:07
Ryan LaFlare def. Benny Alloway via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Tom Lawlor def. Michael Kuiper via submission (guillotine choke) – Round 2, 1:05
Papy Abedi def. Besam Yousef via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

About William Smith

After watching the first Ultimate Fighting Championship I became instantly hooked. I've been a huge fan of the sport of MMA ever since. Haven't missed a UFC event & thanks to fight pass I've witnessed some of the all time greatest fighter & athletes the sport through Pride, Strikeforce, WEC, Glory, Pacrase, EliteXC.............. I resently joined MMA-paradise.com & will use this site to continue to bring the latest news from the world of MMA to all our loyal followers.