CSAC Changes UFC on FOX Semerzier vs. Peralta Result to a No Contest

The California State Athletic Commission today changed the result of the November 12th bout between Mackens Semerzier and Robert Peralta after it was determined an inadvertent headbutt was responsible for ending the UFC on FOX contest in Anaheim, California.

Peralta was initially awarded a TKO victory when his head struck Semerzier in the temple. The clash was tough to see in live action, and it wasn’t until well after the bout that match referee “Big” John McCarthy was told what had actually happened.

Per the CSAC’s regulations, it’s at the referee’s sole discretion to request an on-site review of a fight using the commission’s video monitors placed outside the cage or ring, if they are available. Monitors were used at UFC on FOX, CSAC Executive Director George Dodd said. If the foul had been caught, the bout likely would have gone to judges’ scorecards since bouts that end as the result of a foul are judged based on the preceding rounds.

About William Smith

After watching the first Ultimate Fighting Championship I became instantly hooked. I've been a huge fan of the sport of MMA ever since. Haven't missed a UFC event & thanks to fight pass I've witnessed some of the all time greatest fighter & athletes the sport through Pride, Strikeforce, WEC, Glory, Pacrase, EliteXC.............. I resently joined MMA-paradise.com & will use this site to continue to bring the latest news from the world of MMA to all our loyal followers.